HUMOUR

Frank T. Bird Ruined My Weekend

Losing Sleep Over That Damn Top Spiritual Movie Claim

Pathless Pilgrim
5 min readJan 29, 2022

--

Losing sleep over this story ruined my weekend
Photo by Ryan Snaadt on Unsplash

I’ve been awake since 4:30 this morning, obsessing over that damn story by Frank T Bird where he claims that Planes, Trains and Automobiles is The Greatest Spiritual Movie of All Time.

Now, I know some of you reading this probably think 04:30 is a bit on the late side — all you irritatingly perfect go-getters who rise at four o’clock every morning, go for a run down to the beach, then an icy swim, Wim Hof style, before heading back to your yoga studio to warm up with some high-powered asanas followed by an hour’s meditation before breakfast.

That’s not me, OK.

So right now, I’m a little pissed off. I’ve got a tough weekend ahead of me and being kept awake from such an ungodly hour, struggling to understand Frank’s movie choice, has left me a little grumpy.

I mean, I can obviously understand why he picked Planes, Trains and Automobiles over some obvious spiritual fluff like Fearless, for example. Jeff Bridges’ spontaneous ‘enlightenment’ following his brush with death so close to the start of that movie is just too celestial from the outset.

Bridges’ almost Messianic role after that initial awakening and subsequent choice to ‘return to…

--

--